Dirty vs. Clean

A big part of my Californianization process was expanding my vocabulary with words like organic, home-grown, cage free, gluten free, grass fed, etc., you get the idea. Mind you, I had just experienced Vegas where I learned words like calories, carbohydrates, proteins, fiber, cholesterol, and so forth. Coming from a communist background, when someone gives you food you simply don’t care what’s in it. You just eat it really fast and deal with the hiccups later. Also, the food we had was usually coming from someone’s garden with no pesticides or chemicals and the moms of Romania would cook every day. So back in the day the country was always populated by skinny, healthy people. Poor but skinny:) Anyways, so now being all Californianized I only buy my groceries at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods. I used to hate them but now I love them! They make my tummy very happy and give me a piece of mind that I do the little that I can to keep this body healthy.

So organic vs non-organic… Here’s an interesting fact I learned recently: there are 12 produce heavily contaminated with pesticides so these must be bought organic (they’re commonly known as the Dirty Dozen). So here we go: celery, peaches, strawberries, apples, domestic blueberries, nectarines, bell peppers, leafy greens (like spinach and kale), cherries, potatoes, imported grapes, and lettuce.

And here’s some fruits and veggies that are a lot cleaner so traditionally-grown will do the trick – they have some type of skin we peel off anyway: onions, mango, cantaloupe, asparagus, sweet corn, pineapples, sweet peas, kiwi, cabbage, eggplant, watermelon, grapefruit, sweet potatoes and sweet onions.  I personally hate half of these so I’ll just skip them (asparagus, avocados and sweet potatoes are josie grossie in my book).

And that concludes the nutrition lesson for the day, kids:)

The dirty dozen

2 thoughts on “Dirty vs. Clean

  1. Iata inca un talent ascuns care iese la iveala. Imi place stilul foarte natural.Te regasesc in el si te si vad si aud sporovaind. Tine-o tot asa!

    In legatura cu subiectul lucrurile s-au cam schimbat aici. Tara s-a umplut de hiper si super marketuri pline cu alimente nesanatoase. In ultimul timp insa a inceput sa creasca si aici preocuparea pentru alimentatia sanatoasa si sa se iveasca mici magazine (fizic si online) care vand produse naturale si care au succes. In acelasi timp lumea a inceput din nou sa mai gateasca dupa ce un timp abandonase obiceiul atrasa de afluxul de junk food.

    Like

Leave a Reply

