Vintage Tennis Rackets: Spaulding – Lakeside and Slazengers Coronation

Why should you never fall in love with a tennis player? To them, “Love” means nothing.

~ a little tennis humor for you  ~

I just added these two really cool wooden tennis rackets to my store. They are the perfect gift for any sport memorabilia collector or tennis fan. Both rackets are in such good shape that they can still be used to play. So if you’re looking for a cool gift for your man or father or just a good friend who deserves a nice thank you for being there for you check these out. They are sold individually but if interested in both let me know and I’ll sharpen my pen for you:)  

The first one is an old Lakeside tennis racket made in the USA by AG Spalding Bros. The vintage tennis racket is wood, with the handle wrapped in wide black bands. Hard to date with accuracy but I would guess this was made sometime circa 1940s-1960s. You can see more on it here.

vintage Spalding tennis racket

The racket measures 27″ in height, frame is 12″ x 9 1 /2″ and is in great vintage condition: strings are in good shape, no splinters, shows signs of normal wear and tear. 

vintage Spalding tennis racket

vintage Spalding tennis racket

The second one is a great vintage Coronation model wooden tennis racket made by Slazengers in England. The handle is wrapped in brown leather bands and is signed Slazengers. The racket has the following markings on it: Slazengers, Coronation, Made in England, Marco Unicamente Fabricado por Slazengers, Laminate Construction. You can see more on it here.

Vintage Slazengers Coronation Wooden Tennis Racke

The racket measures 27″ in height, frame is 12″ x 8 1 /2″ and is in great vintage condition: strings are in good shape, no splinters, shows signs of normal wear and tear. 

Vintage Slazengers Coronation Wooden Tennis RackeVintage Slazengers Coronation Wooden Tennis Racke

There you have it. Two awesome gift ideas for the awesome men in your life. They are $32 each but if interested in buying both please contact me and I will try to sharpen my pencil for you. You can find them both in my Etsy store here.

Have a good weekend and play some tennis, kids!

XOXO

Andaluza

Why should you never fall in love with a tennis player?

To them, “Love” means nothing.

~ a little tennis humor for you  ~

One thought on “Vintage Tennis Rackets: Spaulding – Lakeside and Slazengers Coronation

  1. This summer I started to buy all of the vintage tennis rackets I saw at the thrift stores, most of them were under $3. They were too pretty to pass up. Now I hope someone will buy them from my vintage market. I’m sure that eventually they’ll find good homes. I really like the ones in the odd shaped racket presses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

