Bring autumn into your home

Ah, the sweet smell of autumn! I can almost picture myself sitting on an old wool rug in front of the wood fireplace on a crisp, fall evening and savoring a rich, indulgent cup of cinnamon pumpkin latte (non-fat, of course). How amazing does that sound? Pretty heavenly! And yet, I am sitting on my modern couch, in front of my 60 inch flat screen TV in my high rise condo right in the heart of downtown. Not quite the same as my fantasy, I know, but I can actually bring my senses to believe whatever I want them to believe with just a splash of vintage home accents.

I’ll start with my cup of cinnamon pumpkin latte. Running downstairs and grabbing one from the Starbucks next door and simply decanting it in one of these amazing amber glass cups.

Click on photo – Vintage Set Of Five Amber Glass Cups And Saucers

But if you have guests and they’d rather have a little Turkish coffee or espresso then I would use some of these vintage American-made Franciscan China cups in the Arcadia Gold. They are gorgeous in their simplicity and elegance.

Click on photo to buy - Franciscan China Arcadia Gold Set Of 8 Footed Demitasse Cups And Saucers

Click on photo to buy – Franciscan China Arcadia Gold Set Of 8 Footed Demitasse Cups And Saucers

And, I know some of you may think it’s too early, you can always use these super cute holiday inspired clear glass mugs. In my house it’s never too early for the holidays. As a matter of fact, my husband starts playing carols as early as mid-October and we watch The Elf probably 3-4 times a month between October and January.

Click on photo to buy - Vintage Set Of 4 Christmas Clear Glass Mugs

Click on photo to buy – Vintage Set Of 4 Christmas Clear Glass Mugs

OK moving on to some decorating accents. While strolling through Paris this past summer I came across this flea market and found these beautiful hand painted room signs made of Limoges porcelain. They are just so stinking cute!!! One is for the kids room (Chambre D’Enfants), one for the bathroom (Le P’tit Coin) and one for the kitchen (Cuisine). Just adorbs!!

Click on photo to buy - Vintage French Hand Painted Room/Door Signs

Click on photo to buy – Vintage French Hand Painted Room/Door Signs

Want to take it a step further and really bring some old school to your home? And I mean really old school as in the early 1900s. You ready? How about this beautiful antique water carafe from Dudson, Wilcox, and Till? I mean these guys date back to the early 1900s when they operated the Britannic Pottery in Hanley, England from 1902 until 1926. Perfection! Whether you want to use it to pour warm water into a bowl to wash your face or simply use it for warm milk at the breakfast table, this piece is timeless and for sure will impress your guests.

Click on photo to buy - Antique Dudson, Wilcox & Till Water or Milk Pitcher

Click on photo to buy – Antique Dudson, Wilcox & Till Water or Milk Pitcher

And speaking of warm milk, how about some vintage English bowls for the cereal or oatmeal? Try using these bowls from Ridgway Ironstone in the Canterbury pattern – a little over 50 years old, the colors are still beautifully vibrant with no fading!

Click photo to buy - Ridgeway Ironstone Canterbury Set Of Bowls From Staffordshire England

Click photo to buy – Ridgeway Ironstone Canterbury Set Of Bowls From Staffordshire England

If you like any of these go check out my Etsy vintage store where you can find a lot more great treasures that can help you bring the feel of autumn into your home. We don’t have to live in the English countryside to get that warm, fuzzy feeling 🙂

xoxo

Andaluza

 

Leave a Reply

